Oh, Broad Ripple.


I had to touch it to see if it was real. Every time I'm here it's the best night of my life that quickly turns into the worst once that perfect vision having ass hindsight kicks in. Driving the 'shortcut' (read: same ass time, you just speed) from West Lafayette at midnight, to catch the bars before they close leads to engrained memories tied to 'lick' by Joi. I passed the exact spot I failed that night and got by unscathed like Mario after getting a green mushroom and another shot.

Hmmm...another shot. The crew looks different but much is the same. Left ring fingers filled to match their phone galleries with pictures of middle school faces. Gray hair cutting through the black like white women who 'didnt see you standing there.' The jokes and drinks are endless.

I would list attendees but that just sounds like a recitation of lives lost due to unjust police killings. Instead, I'll reserve the BLM content for the riot ridden next stop:

St. Louis.

------------------

I woke up to the sounds of a 4 and 6 year old living their life like it's golden. The 4 year old told me I was only allowed to drink out of a plastic cup, so I followed directions. I have to earn his trust before I can get glass. He ran the house. While showering, I heard the door open and 'who's in here?' heavily echoed through the soaking wet bathroom.

(Apparently, there was a bath time gone wrong moment that morning)

The boy is 4, but he sounded like a grown man. I said my whole name before realizing I was talking to a child.

--------------

I Quit My Job Cuz Fck Dem Hoes.


The best quote of the morning. Invited over for breakfast, I was treated to an accidental gourmet meal because they were out of everything but eggs, cheese, guac and Brussels sprouts.

Protein.